You must enable JavaScript to view this site.
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our legal notice and privacy policy for more details.

Crisis Group's Board of Trustees

President & CEO

Jean-Marie Guéhenno
Former UN Under-Secretary-General for Peacekeeping Operations


Lord (Mark) Malloch-Brown*
Former UN Deputy Secretary-General and Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)


Ayo Obe*
Chair of the Board of the Gorée Institute

Other Trustees

Mort Abramowitz
Former U.S. Assistant Secretary of State and Ambassador to Turkey

Fola Adeola
Founder and Chairman, FATE Foundation

Ali al Shihabi
Author; Founder and former Chairman of Rasmala Investment bank

Celso Amorim
Former Minister of External Relations of Brazil; former Defence Minister

Hushang Ansary*
Chairman, Parman Capital Group LLC

Nahum Barnea
Political Columnist, Israel

Kim Beazley
National President, Australian Institute of International Affairs; Former Deputy Prime Minister of Australia and Ambassador to the US

Carl Bildt
Former Prime Minister and Foreign Minister of Sweden

Emma Bonino
Former Foreign Minister of Italy and European Commissioner for Humanitarian Aid

Lakhdar Brahimi
Member, The Elders; UN Diplomat; Former Foreign Minister of Algeria

Cheryl Carolus*
Former South African High Commissioner to the UK and Secretary General of the African National Congress (ANC)

Maria Livanos Cattaui*
Former Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce

Wesley Clark
Former NATO Supreme Allied Commander

Sheila Coronel 
Toni Stabile Professor of Practice in Investigative Journalism; Director, Toni Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism, Columbia University 

Frank Giustra*
President & CEO, Fiore Financial Corporation

Mo Ibrahim
Founder and Chair, Mo Ibrahim Foundation; Founder, Celtel International 

Wolfgang Ischinger
Chairman, Munich Security Conference; former German Deputy Foreign Minister and Ambassador to the UK and U.S.

Asma Jahangir
Former President of the Supreme Court Bar Association of Pakistan; Former UN Special Rapporteur on the Freedom of Religion or Belief

Yoriko Kawaguchi
Former Minister for Foreign Affairs, Japan

Wadah Khanfar 
Co-Founder, Al Sharq Forum; Former Director General, Al Jazeera Network

Wim Kok 
Former Prime Minister of the Netherlands  

Andrey Kortunov
Director General of the Russian International Affairs Council; President of the New Eurasia Foundation in Moscow

Ivan Krastev
Chairman of Centre for Liberal Strategies; Founding Board Member of European Council on Foreign Relations

Ricardo Lagos
Former President of Chile  

Joanne Leedom-Ackerman 
Former International Secretary of PEN International; Novelist and journalist, U.S. 

Helge Lund
Former CEO of BG Group Limited and Statoil ASA

Shivshankar Menon
Former Foreign Secretary of India; Former National Security Advisor

Naz Modirzadeh
Director of the Harvard Law School Program on International Law and Armed Conflict

Saad Mohseni
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of MOBY Group

Marty Natalegawa
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Indonesia; Permanent Representative to the UN; Former Ambassador to the UK

Roza Otunbayeva
Former President of Kyrgyzstan; Former Minister of Foreign Affairs

Thomas R. Pickering*
Former U.S. Undersecretary of State and Ambassador to the UN, Russia, India, Israel, Jordan, El Salvador and Nigeria

Olympia Snowe
Former U.S. Senator and member of the House of Representatives

Javier Solana
President, ESADE Center for Global Economy and Geopolitics; Distinguished Fellow, The Brookings Institution

George Soros*
Founder, Open Society Foundations and Chair, Soros Fund Management

Pär Stenbäck
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs and of Education, Finland; Chairman of the European Cultural Parliament

Jonas Gahr Støre
Leader of Norwegian Labor Party; Former Foreign Minister of Norway

Lawrence Summers 
Former Director of the US National Economic Council and Secretary of the U.S. Treasury; President Emeritus of Harvard University

Helle Thorning-Schmidt
CEO of Save the Children International; Former Prime Minister of Denmark

Wang Jisi
Member, Foreign Policy Advisory Committee of the Chinese Foreign Ministry; Former Dean of School of International Studies, Peking University

Chairmen Emeriti

Martti Ahtisaari
Former President of Finland

George J. Mitchell
Former U.S. Senate Majority Leader

President Emeritus

Gareth Evans
Former Foreign Affairs Minister of Australia

Crisis Group Senior Advisers

Crisis Group's Senior Advisers are former Board Members (to the extent consistent with any other office they may be holding at the time) who maintain an association with Crisis Group, and whose advice and support are called on from time to time.

See a list of Crisis Group's Senior Advisers.

* Ex officio, and member of Board of Directors.
This page in: